Sew Many Crafts, Sew Little Time

Watch me as I bounce from project to project, never knowing how it will end.

Splish, Splash? October 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jessanns @ 2:25 am

 End of July I made Loofah Sponges!  In June, I was visiting my parents for a week on the farm.  While helping Mom in the veggie garden, I walked into the shed for a pair of gloves.  It was there I discovered my mom hadn’t touch the assortment of gourds she grew last year!  So I took this “opportunity” and loaded up two trash bags to bring back with me.  🙂 

So one weekend, I got a little time to clean up the gourds and turn them into usable sponges.

Loofah Gourds before their bath.

Soaking….. 

You want to soak the gourds in order to soften the skin.  This makes it much easier to take off the outer shell.  Had to change the water frequently so dirty water didn’t stain the sponge.

Skinless….  but they still weren’t finished.

This water bath was mixed with some bleach to help get rid of the dark stains from the shell.  I used about a 4:1 ratio of water to bleach.

So pretty and clean! 

These have made great bath sponges!!!

 

Leave a Reply

